Wall St. and how to get in.

I'm an undergrad student at a 'non-target' school and I'd like the opportunity to intern come summer at a hedge fund. The problem is, most funds don't advertise, and the ones that do are big ones that hire mostly from Ivy League. When I saw memes about how a person is a legend if they make it to Wall St without rich parents or Ivy league I didn't think much of it. Now I know! So question to you guys here, I need some advice, how do I go about entering these funds as an intern, or do you guys recommend starting elsewhere?

I never managed to get internships. But I was placed @ Bridgewater Associates via a recruiting firm (I think it was Greenstreet) after I moved to NYC without a job. 

Only thing I had going for me at the time was the first level of the CFA under my belt. My small school in Mississippi was definitely not target and had no other connections with the firm. 

So - work with recruiting firms who will be working with hedge funds open to non target candidates and make sure you can best the ivy league guys that will be there too 

1 hour ago, TwoCitiesCapital said:

I never managed to get internships. But I was placed @ Bridgewater Associates via a recruiting firm (I think it was Greenstreet) after I moved to NYC without a job. 

Only thing I had going for me at the time was the first level of the CFA under my belt. My small school in Mississippi was definitely not target and had no other connections with the firm. 

So - work with recruiting firms who will be working with hedge funds open to non target candidates and make sure you can best the ivy league guys that will be there too 

That's the thing, CFA is sought after, although I am preparing to write CFA level I, I am a junior year so I can't take the test till next year. I am looking for internships this summer. I heard getting in is the hardest part, once you're in, you can easily jump ships.

25 minutes ago, whatstheofficerproblem said: