Japan – Low ROE, But Low Cost of Capital

JEast

I have been studying the ‘lost decade’ of Japan for the last several years and its potential implications it may have for us in North America. As such, I just returned from a trip in Northern Japan. The trip was mostly a holiday excursion, which was wonderful, but did spend some time on the research front trying to understand the deflationary aspects of the culture as it now stands. My view, (though cursory), somewhat backs up the conventional wisdom that the country is indeed getting older. This is implied by the contrast of my touring South America extensively with that of Japan. In South America, there are children and babies almost everywhere you go. In contrast, the babies and small children I saw in Japan were far and few in between in over 8ookm of back road touring of many cities, restaurants, and just normal observation.

With that introduction, many shy away from Japanese stocks and for good reasons over the last 20+ years. However, even if Japanese companies have low ROE, they also have a very low cost of capital. Is this not like just having a simple carry trade, except that it is a company versus a Goldman Sachs currency trade?

As I indicated in an earlier post, I had the opportunity to discuss very briefly the Toyota Industries investment by Third Avenue Funds with Marty Whitman back last year in 2009. I asked him at that time if Toyota Industries was not a value trap. His response, to paraphrase, was that as long as the balance sheet was strong and it was cheap, there is no such thing as a value trap. As the fallout from the Toyota Motors recall tainted Toyota Industries, I pulled the trigger as Toyota Industries fell below $2500¥ since my analysis indicated that a conservative book value was roughly $3700¥. In addition, I like the fork truck aspect which nearly 40% of the business.

?? Can one make money with a low ROE, if the cost of capital is low.