anyone have experience with tax lien sales?

Hey guys,

Does anyone here have any experience with these? It looks like the returns are decent enough from what I've read (10%-12%) with little downside. However, I'm a total novice and this one is currently not in my circle of competence. Are these worth the headaches? Thanks for any insight!

I have experience, but they are very different in each market / municipality.  You would want to get advice from someone who has done it in your exact market - or a title attorney who works with clients involved in tax lien sales regularly.  In New Orleans there are 3 different (at least) types and the rules and risks are different for each.  Generally, I have heard the rules are favorable for investors in some areas of Florida, but where I live it's not a great deal for the most part.

It's a very competitive business.  The returns are good if you're willing to put in the work.  As in going to the courthouse every day to find new liens, building connections to get new leads, dealing with evictions, etc.

It's similar to buying real estate at auction.  You're going to have plenty of competition for the same bid. 

Going to the tenant and saying I have a lien on your house.  Pay me or I'll take your house.  Most will give you the finger.  And if they do leave, they'll most likely trash the house.  They didn't pay their taxes for a reason, so the chances of them paying you is unlikely too.  Some will, but that's the rare case.

I've looked into and had a friend who has done it and received some property. The rules are different in every state - generally, southern states have the most favorable rules.

Some general info: