Money Saving information for Auto Insurance

plusalpha

Sorry folks to ask this question on the investing board, But I thought it will be great if I can learn some money saving tips from the Value minded people on the board who be saving money on auto insurance.

So here is my particular situation.

I am located in Michigan and have 2001 Honda Accord which I have Basic Insurance and 2012 Toyota Prius V which I have full coverage. Its approaching the end of 6month period of current insurance and I am in the market for next 6 month auto insurance policy.

Some things I currently do to maximize saving.

1) Combined insurance with Home insurance.

2) High deductible on Toyota Prius.

3) No comprehensive or Collision coverage on Honda Accord.

Please let me know if you have any more tips to add saving on auto insurance.

Thank you

plusAlpha

I'm no insurance expert, and markets are highly state dependent so what I say might not apply, but here's what I've found in Pennsylvania.

I've talked to the agent extensively about different options for lowering payments.  What it comes down to is reducing liability from $300k to $100k reduces the 6mo amount by a few dollars.  In PA the only way to significantly reduce insurance expense is to go no tort vs full tort.  No tort means if you get in an accident you have signed away your right to legal recourse.  There is no reason to ever go no tort unless you're crazy. 

My conclusion has been this.  There is a base price to insure a car, say $100/mo.  If you lower deductibles and get the max liability it might go to $115 a month, but unless you go no tort you can't get it lower.  At one point I had a $100 deductible, I asked what it would be to go to a $1000 deductible, they said a $10 difference per year.  The payback on that isn't there.  On my insurance at least it shows how much each category costs and costs beyond the base are negligible.